EDM Reviews

Reviews of EDM artists and events

Pluginboutique - VST Plugins Buy Instruments Effects and Studio Tools
Pluginboutique - VST Plugins Buy Instruments Effects and Studio Tools

Calvin Harris Announces Release Date Of New Album 18 Months


Calvin Harris Hammarica PR Electronic Dance Music News

Many things can happen in 18 months. For Scottish-born, international DJ/producer CALVIN HARRIS, he garnered two MTV Video Music Awards, earned a platinum-selling single for “Feel So Close” and performed at many major music festivals including Coachella, Lollapalooza, Ultra Music Festival and iTunes Festival, just to name a few. However, the greatest accomplishment for him during this time period was the completion of his new album 18 MONTHS, out October 30 (Roc Nation/Ultra Music/Columbia Records).


18 MONTHS features a star studded line-up, with guest vocals from the likes of Rihanna, Kelis, Ne-Yo, Florence Welch, Dizzee Rascal, Ellie Goulding, Tinie Tempah, Ayah and Example, as well as collaborations with DJ/producers Nicky Romero and Dillon Francis. It is the follow-up to HARRIS’ 2009 #1 album Ready For The Weekend.

“Sweet Nothing” will be the sixth single from the album so far, following HARRIS’ collaborations with Rihanna (the international smash hit “We Found Love” which HARRIS wrote and produced for her 2011 album Talk That Talk) and Kelis (“Bounce”), his smash radio track “Feel So Close” and collaborations with Ne-Yo (“Let’s Go”) and Example (“We’ll Be Coming Back”). Upon its release as a single (date TBA), “Sweet Nothing” will also feature remixes by Tiësto, Burns, Dirtyloud and Qulinez.

Fans don’t need to wait long to experience the song, though. Once again, HARRIS teams with director Vincent Haycock—whose credits also include “Feel So Close” and “Bounce”—for the video which made its broadcast debut on MTV and its online debut on VEVO last week and since posting has garnered over 2,000,000 views. It features Florence Welch in a masculine look most have never seen her in as well as a prominent cameo by HARRIS himself. Wrote USA Today (9/17/12) of the track, “The singer lends her powerful chops to a pounding dance track…”

With international album sales of over 3.2 million, singles sales from the tracks taken from 18 MONTHS are already up to 2.2 million worldwide. In the U.S., “Feel So Close” has already achieved platinum status and “Let’s Go” not far behind with 780,000+ in sales, all the while remaining on Billboard’s Hot 100—“Feel So Close” peaking at #12 and “Let’s Go” at #17—and receiving heavy play on Top 40 stations across the country.

The track listing for 18 MONTHS is:

1. Green Valley
2. Bounce (feat. Kelis)
3. Feel So Close
4. We Found Love (feat. Rihanna)
5. We’ll Be Coming Back (feat. Example)
6. Mansion
7. Iron w/ Nicky Romero
8. I Need Your Love (feat. Ellie Goulding)
9. Drinking From The Bottle (feat. Tinie Tempah)
10. Sweet Nothing (feat. Florence Welch)
11. School
12. Here 2 China w/ Dillon Francis (feat. Dizzee Rascal)
13. Let’s Go (feat. Ne-Yo)
14. Awooga
15. Thinking About You (feat. Ayah)